One of CrimeReads “Most Anticipated Books of 2022”

"… an impressive debut. … Rowell brings notes of poetry to the dark tale of corruption."

Rowell’s Never Name the Dead is an impressive debut, charting a woman’s return from Silicon Valley to her roots, the Kiowa tribal land in Oklahoma, where she finds a divided tribe, land threatened by fracking, and her own grandfather missing and possibly framed for a crime she knows he didn’t commit. The novel then becomes a detective story with a deep sense of place and history. Rowell brings notes of poetry to the dark tale of corruption. –DM


Sign Up to Get the Latest News.

Monthly emails providing the latest news on my progress in getting 'Never Name the Dead' the first book in the series.

Never Name the Dead

Silicon Valley entrepreneur, Mae starts an unexpected spiritual quest when summoned back to the former Kiowa, Comanche, Apache Reservation of her childhood by her Kiowa grandfather. Upon arrival, she is thrown into a whirlwind of deceit, theft and murder. It takes a blend of Silicon Valley ingenuity and Native American spirituality to solve a murder—before time runs out.


“Oil frackers and regalia looters meet their match in Mae "Mud" Sawpole, a Silicon Valley exec and former college softball slugger who returns to her Kiowa homeland in Oklahoma to settle the score.” —Kris Lackey, author of the Maytubby-Bond series

Available for Preorder at these Locations


© 2022 D.M. Rowell